Date: 1st May 2009 at 10:03am
Written by:

Robbie Blake was named Supporters Player of the Year at last night’s official Burnley FC Player of the Year Awards.

Fans had been asked via the official website to select their player of the year from a shortlist which consisted of Graham Alexander, Robbie Blake, Wade Elliott, Brian Jensen and Martin Paterson.

Last night’s event was held in the James Hargreaves Suite at Turf Moor and almost 600 Clarets fans turned up to hear who had won the various awards and to see the players presented with their trophies

The full list of winners was as follows:

Robbie Blake: Supporters Player of the Year

Graham Alexander: Players Player of the Year

Jay Rodriguez: Goal of the Season (Forest)

Chris McCann: Young Player of the Year

Wes Fletcher: Youth Player of the Year

In the Supporters Clubs Player of the Year Awards earlier in the week, three players picked up most of the awards between them. Blake and Alexander were two of the players and Jensen was the third.

The club realising The Beast hadn’t been awarded anything at the Official event last night presented the stopper with a crate of Carling lager after his fantastic performance for the Clarets in the Carling Cup competition this season.

Jensen had previously won the Carling Cup Player of the Tournament, as voted for on the official Carling website.

Well done to all the award winners!